Bye Felicia!

I’m spent from reconfiguring my bag for the third time just so I could get that extra pair of boots to fit, but it was worth it. I can never have enough boots. That’s one bag down and another three or four to go, but I can’t be bothered now. I need a frozen yogurt break.  In just a few days, I will be reunited with my husband in Croatia for a month-long pause on life and I couldn’t be more thankful for it.  Lately, I’ve been so mentally and emotionally exhausted that I knew something needed to happen in order to maintain my sanity.  This opportunity couldn’t have been better timed.  I’ll have a whole month to decompress, quiet my mind and just be.  To think, I almost let this trip slip away.

These last few days at home are passing by more quickly than I expected and there are so many ridiculous things I still need to get in order. Like thoroughly cleaning my house, hiding the dead plants from view of the neighbors, making sure my DVR is properly scheduled, and justifying the need to drink the last bottle of champagne from when my sister was in town. The list is endless but I refuse to become overwhelmed. What’s really driving me insane are the food cravings I’m getting from knowing that I’ll be deprived of certain things for a while.  It’s causing me to be even more deliberate than usual about how I choose to spend my calories.  Right now I’m dying for fried rice and pork dumplings followed by chocolate hazelnut Pinkberry yogurt on a sugar cone.  I have just over a day left and not enough meal opportunities to satiate all of my hankerings.

I have to say that I’m really grateful to the women that encouraged me to go after this opportunity.  I’m proud of myself for stepping out and really taking a chance on something that quite honestly made me feel uneasy in the beginning.  It’s laughable to think that I almost let someone convince me that going to Croatia was like running away from my worries.  Bye Felicia!  I know I’ve made the right decision, and I’m pumped about everything to come.  It won’t be Instagram gorgeous all the time and some activities will be downright mundane, but it doesn’t matter. My life for thirty days will be authentic living, time with my hubby, drinking at inappropriate times and delicious food.  What more can a girl ask for?

One thought on “Bye Felicia!

  1. Also to add to authenticity is riding a bike! I’m so excited about your journey and that we get to travel along with you through this blog. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

